Motivated Procrastinator's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Day #10 – What’s on your ipod? Do you write in Silence or Jam like I do?

with one comment

I absolutely adore some of the creativity in some of the calendars and other artwork focused on nanowrimo!!! Todays is…

Thanks stringcatL

Not everybody can write in silence.  I can NOT.  While most people like to read and study in silence.  I am the exact opposite.  I am bored to tears!!! …literally.  I get wrestless and I don’t know what to do with myself.  I tend to take in everything around me when there is complete silence.  The faucet dripping in the kitchen, the car alarm outside, the pink elephants in the upstairs condo (OK…its a nice way of saying the loud !@#&(&*)(&$%^&*() neighbors.  (Yes…they are that annoying)  SIDE NOTE: Remember the housing boom?  Remember when it fell out? Well…they forgot a few layers of sound insulation BEFORE they went bankrupt (uuuuughhh)!!

Back to today’s topic…

So…there must be something playing.  If I want to focus…it must be playing LOUDLY.  It drowns out the world around me (especially my pink elephants, who can be fun if you get to know them).  If I really want to super focus it has to be a song I know. That way I don’t focus on the lyrics!!! Eventually, I tune the music out too. It’s quirky I know.

What tunes do you use for motivation if any?

I have to send a SHOUTOUT to one of my 1st readers who link is Fulid. (I haven’t yet figured out this word or what it means.  Everytime I see it I want to move the “l”next to the “f”).  The mixtape he recommended is right up my alley.  I absolutely love it!!  The Bob Dylan song is genius.  I have a very eclectic taste in music and I love music with a little more …substance or it just has to be fun!! Did I mention loud?  In order to drown out the outside sounds I crank it up, all the way up.  This is probably not a good idea for the longterm health of my ears.

What’s your method of focus? Do you use music? What’s on your ipod?  Engage…

Thanks Fulid!

Share what you listen to on your ipod while writing.

My NanoWriMo Daily UPDATE!!! because I’m sure you’re interested…

Last Week’s Daily Updates

Day #8: FAIL: did not pick up!!!

Day #9:FAIL: 789 words

Day #10: 1536 So far today…still NOT at goal but I will catch up today!! tonight!!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Written by motivatedprocrastinator

November 11, 2009 at 2:05 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lol im glad that you liked the mixtape ^_^ as for Fulid, it was a highschool thing so totally lame don’t worry. Also i wanted to add that loud music while writing is up my alley as well. I’ve got Placebo, Rise Against and Anti-Flag helping me out at the moment 😀

    Thomas Bennet

    November 18, 2009 at 2:52 pm


Leave a Reply

